When you Lose Someone Close to you


My Real Life (“RL”) has been up in arms for the last four (4) weeks, as I’ve tried to come to terms with the fact that someone who is very close is in a long painful battle to stay alive. I’ve been down this road before and it’s not an easy one. We all go through this, it’s the process of the life cycle, and how each of us handle this is different. I tend to over think those issues that are near and dear to my heart, but that’s how I find I grow in the long run. In lots of ways I’ve tried to hide away in Second Life (“SL”) recently to try to cushion the blow of RL, but this has only lead to more stresses and issues and put the ever so delicate balance of my first and second life out of whack. For the most part I get it that a lot of people use SL as a form of escapism from the grind of RL. I’ve done this in the past myself, but after three (3) years of being in SL as Splash, I find the entire process of using SL as just a form of “go with the flow” escapism to be rather meaningless. Not everyone I know in SL of course uses this unique virtual world as a form of surface level escapism; many use it for artistic expression, true meaningful friendships, learning, helping others, etc. I’m not trying to judge others, everyone is different. For me however I’m at one of those cross roads in SL that will most likely result in me having to let go of some people I have know who are growing in different directions.

Lately I’ve made my second life more “real” which has been both good and bad. As a DJ in SL, who uses his real voice, I know I put myself out there a bit more other most people are willing too. The voice is “mine” not Splash’s so in lots of ways who Splash use to be before I DJ and who he is now is radically different. I guess in the long run what I’m trying to say in this post is that I need to pull back from SL for the most part until I feel things get back into balance again with my RL.  To my friends and associates in SL who understands this thank you for all your support. I hope you’ll be there when I sail through these tempestuous waters.

Leave a Reply

