This is for you Nana – Elton John’s “Your Song”


On Saturday March 13th, 2010 I DJ at the Clothing Fair in Second Life for the 2010 virtual world part of Relay For Life (“RFL”). RFL is the major fund-raiser of the American Cancer Society.

I played this song while I DJ and dedicated this song to someone very special to me as it was her favorite song. She had never heard me before DJ and was so touched to hear my song dedication to her and that I was helping the American Cancer Society in raising money to fight cancer. She phoned me after the song and thanked me so much and all the people in Second Life helping to raise money and awareness in the fight against cancer.  She had been listening on the web while I DJ in Second Life as I was able to pass along the URL for her before I started my set. Sadly she is now gone in a real world physical sense, after a courageous fight against a malignancy that came on suddenly only several weeks ago. Nana was an incredible person, who dedicated her life to giving so that others could live a better life. Thank you Nana for being a part of my life and helping me along the road! This is to you Nana, we will love you always!

Leave a Reply

