Bumbershoot 2010


Every since I was a young child of about 8 years of age I still get that sad feeling in the pit of my stomach as August slowly fade into September. Maybe this sad feeling is due to the memories of the loss of those carefree day’s of summer holiday’s when life was more simple and free. Even though it has been a few years since I finished my school days, I still get that familiar lonesome feeling as the days grow shorter and the nights longer and Summer fades into Fall.

Luckily for me, as least for the past several years, I now get a different kind of feeling in my stomach as the labor day weekend starts to approach, as I know that Bumbershoot is just around the corner. Sure that sad feeling is still there, however now I have the positive anticipation of the start of Bumbershoot to help counter balance the negative feelings I have with the passing of Summer in clear view. Every labor day weekend, since 1971, North America’s largest urban arts festival takes place in Seattle Washington at the 74-acre Seattle Center grounds in Downtown Seattle. Just at the base of the Space Needle, the best in music, film, comedy, spoken word, dance, theatre, performance, and visual arts takes place in an event that is called Bumbershoot. Bumbershoot you ask, what the heck does that name mean? Well let me tell you Bumbershoot is slang for Umbrella and for those of us who live in the Pacific Northwest (for the American’s) or the Pacific Southwest ( for the Canadian’s, :P) an Umbrella or a Bumbershoot is standard equipment if one is to be outdoors for any length of time, especially in the Fall and Winter months.

For three days at the beginning of September, Saturday the 4th, Sunday the 5th and Monday the 6th Bumbershoot 2010 goes from Noon to Midnight with the key feature being the six music stages spread-out through the festival grounds. From intimate smaller type stages, like the Sky Church Stage to the Large outdoor Main Stage area, Bumbershoot provides an interesting mixture of music venues and styles of musical experiences for those in attendance. This years list of musical artists includes, Bob Dylan, The Decemberists, Weezer, Neko Case, Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros and many, many more. Part of the fun and enjoyment for me is the smaller stage areas that typically have more indie/alt type acts that I have heard before or are hearing for the first time.

In any event, please take a moment to check out the Bumbershoot 2010 web site noted in the link at the bottom of this article for far more details about all that will be going on this coming weekend. I’ll be hopefully taking lots of pictures this year and will post some results on the blog once I’ve back from the festival. Lets just hope that I’ll be using my sunscreen this year instead of my bumbershoot at this years festival!

The link to the Bumbershoot 2010 web site is as follows:

Leave a Reply

