Moments


Please start playing the music by Brain McBride, before you begin reading my short poem; thank you

Moments

There are moments, before and after the pause
when I’m focusing on the red lights in front of me.
I see the flickering, of the filter lights, in the tunnel as I descend.
It is the same, day in day out, but it is different too, when I pause just before the moment.
I descend once again.
I pause before the moment and wonder.
The phone is in my hand.
Caressing the air with my finger tips before the touch.
The flicking of the filter lights is closer.
The tunnel is my womb; do I dare?
Pausing, the moment, before and after.
Is it different?
Do I dare?
Ascending, I focus on the red lights in front of me.
The edge of the tunnel grows near.
Sunlight from the evening sun blinds me for a moment.
Pausing
Yes, the phone was in my hand.

by Splash Kidd

Leave a Reply

