Fantasy Faire Camp at Relay for Life of Second Life 2011 ~ Luminaria Ceremony


I’ve put up a few pictures I took during the luminary ceremony that took place on Saturday July 16th at the Relay for Life of Second Life 2011 (“RFL of SL 2011) RFL of SL Blog festivities while I was with my Fantasy Faire team members. The lighting of the luminary candles is one of the most moving aspect of the entire weekend events during the RFL of SL season. Cancer survivors, those battling cancer and their caregivers walk the track during the luminary ceremony during a silent time that last for an hour. During this silent hour the names of people who have lost their battle to cancer and the short tributes to them is read and broadcasted over the media stream at all the sims involved in the RFL of SL final weekend events. This year there was a total of forty-two (42) sims that covered the RFL of SL events.

I want to say a big congratulations to all the tireless volunteers and worker who have made the RFL of SL organization into showcase of what can be achieved in respect to the utilization of a virtual world environment to help raise awareness and funding to fight the battle against cancer.

I want to thank Shayla Juran, the coördinator for the DJ stages and line of the DJ’s for this year’s RFL of SL final weekend, for her support and faith in my abilities to help out as a DJ too.

I want to express my thanks and gratitude to the organizers and members of the Fantasy Faire RFL of SL team Fantasy Faire who allowed me to be a DJ performer for them this year on two (2) separate occasions in regards to fund-raising activities for the 2011 RFL of SL season. I always want to thank those members of the Fantasy Faire team who really took me under their wing and made me feel welcomed as a member of their team this year. I especially want to thank Ember Farina for being such a big part of not only the RFL of SL 2011 organization committee but for also shining a very real light on me in respect to what it means to “Relay for Life”.

Leave a Reply

