“Weightless” by City and Colour


“…Come close, Lay next to me. I need to tell you something important…”

Oh to uncover those “Diamonds in the Rough” when listening to music! Every time I get to listen to another song off of the new album “Little Hell” by “City and Colour” it’s like finding another precious jewel; wonderful! The strength, quality and delivery of the songs written and performed by Dallas Green shows itself in the “Little Hell” Album. In the song “Weightless” Dallas Green explores the theme of those conflicting emotions of what happens when one is falling in and/or out of love. The “wanting” and the “not wanting”. The lines in the song “…Holding all the weight in my life. Now you turn and walk away from me…” point to the song title “Weightless” and what it feels like when the floor falls out beneath your feet in a relationship. Your emotional connection with someone who you have trusted is now falling away and the conflicts of wanting that intimate connection back, but knowing it’s crumbling away beneath your feet is very well presented in the song.

The paradoxical lines,”…Needing all the strength in my life. Now you turn and run away from me. Needing all the strength in my life. Now you turn and run away from me…” are interesting in that they show that even the person in a relationship who is “walking away” is still close to the person they are leaving in the emotion damage that is felt. The person in question who is leaving the relationship may have moved on, but in the heart of the person left they are still there; especially in the pain of what has fallen away.

The front end lyrics of the song, “…Stay close, Lay next to me, I need to feel important…” set the right mood in not only the way the words were chosen, but in the way Dallas Green delivers them in the presentation of his song. The structure of the words, conjure up the loss of what once felt like a balance in a very intimate relationship (or what one might have perceived as being in balance); that fine balance between two intimate lovers where both people need to feel appreciated and important. There is an extreme level of vulnerability within all intimate relationships, so of course when the bond or “balance” is broken the weightlessness of the lost is magnified.

In any event, I’ll leave it up to you to listen and interpret the song “Weightless” as you like; that’s the beauty of music the sense of discovery and making a song part of your life in what it says.!

I’ve included the lyrics to “Weightless” too for your review and analysis. Please leave a comment or two if you have a moment and tell me what you think this song means to you?

“Come close,
Lay next to me

Come close,
Lay next to me
I need to tell you something important

Because it’s your eyes I don’t believe
And my heart, I know, you will deceive
Do you know the consequence that comes with such confidence?

Holding all the weight in my life
Now you turn and walk away from me

So what is this now, you ask of me?
What’s makes your pain such an urgency?
Now I want out, so plain to see
Once again my dear, a new tragedy

Holding all the weight in my life
Now you turn and walk away from me
Holding all the weight in my life
Now you turn and walk away from me

Needing all the strength in my life
Now you turn and run away from me
Needing all the strength in my life
Now you turn and run away from me”

Leave a Reply

