Retro 80’s Eddie Money’s “I Wanna Go Back”


Keeping my fingers on the eclectic side of my mixing board, I thought I would jump back a bit in time and share the 80’s tune “I Wanna Go Back” by Eddie Money. The retro style of the video and it’s point of view is interesting. I especially like the 70’s & 80’s style of vehicles in the front end of the video clip that definitely help to define the time frame that the video was shoot in. Remember now, MTV was lunched on August 1st, 1981 so from a historical stand point this is a cool look at how video was being used by the mid 80’s to help in the presentation of a song. The song by Eddie is a fairly straight forward pop style of softer rock song that made it as high as 14 on Billboards Hot Top 100 songs in 1986. The style of clothing and hair cuts from 25 years ago are wild when viewed from this perspective. The view-point of the singer, Eddie Money, looking back in time in 1986 to when he was most likely in high school around 1966 and then us the readers of this blog in 2011 looking back via the YouTube clip creates a rather interesting set of jump backs in my opinion. Time moves on, we all can view the past via our minds eye, but our abilities to go back to what it use to be is an impossibility.

“…the first slow dance, hoping I would get it right….”

Hope you enjoy the retro look of a 1986 High School dance courteous of Eddie Money’s “I Wanna Go Back”, as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

