Ms, Ms Behaving Lauryn Hill ~ “Doo Wop (That Thing)”


Little old skool hip hop/rap for my post today from the talented Lauryn Hill performing per late 90’s hit “Doo Wop” from her album “The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill”. I hadn’t heard this song for a long time, until recently again and was remembering back how much I enjoyed “Doo Wop” when it first came out. I’ve attached Lauryn’s official video for this song, for a couple of reason. Firstly back in the 90’s before digital music had really taken off, a lot more money was available and used in the production of music video’s. So from a stylistic and historical point of view the structure and quality of the music video is important in my view. Secondly, I really like the structural core of this video and how it’s used to showcase “Doo Wop”. The lighting, setting, cutting and reference points to New York City in 1967 & 1998 is very interesting to me. It my view it would be kind of cool for Lauryn to perhaps do a 2012 remix version of her own song and do a new video perhaps with the reference points being New York City in 1998 and 2012! In any event, take a look at the video and offer a comment if you like. Hope you enjoy “Doo Wop” as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

